Foreshadowing

September 19, 2011 § Leave a comment

Some many years ago, too long ago to exactly recall
I wrote myself a note for my 40th Birthday

Not long now, the day I declared fast approaches
And ever faster the memory encroaches

I know exactly what it says

I can’t recall the day or even year I wrote it
But inside that envelope are words I need to “hear”

I know I haven’t come close

To doing all the things I had thought I aught to
By now

I know I’m no where near

Achieving the hopes I had for family
By now

I didn’t always make good, I sometimes didn’t do right
I’ve both done and not done things that I deeply regret

But I’ve done amazing things I never even thought I would try
I’ve accomplished once out of reach goals I was scared to set

I know exactly what it says

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Foreshadowing at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

