Project 2011 – Week 40

October 9, 2011 § 15 Comments

I’ve so lost track of what’s going on here.  I was only going to post a weekly update about my new health/weight goals every Tuesday and then I proceeded to write two poems and then no update.  *sigh*

Anywho, I should be at around the 5lb mark for the weight loss, should being the operative word.  Gratefully, I haven’t gained any but I haven’t lost so much as an ounce…or if I did, I immediately put it back on.

This may require more drastic measures, like actually counting calories and stricter portion control.  Of course there’s always the “fuck it, I weigh what I weigh” attitude.  No, I’m not quite ready to throw in the towel. I’ll just try harder that’s all, at least for the next couple of weeks anyway.

It’s Thanksgiving here in the Great White North and we really couldn’t have asked for nicer weather for a long weekend.  Sunshine, temps in the mid 20’s and all the beautiful colours of Autumn…it’s truly glorious.

We’re going to make a Herculean effort to get as much done today as we can so that we can actually enjoy the day off tomorrow without worrying about chores.  We still have all kinds of never got to tasks that fell through the cracks of our incredibly busy summer.

In a couple of weeks it’ll be Hallowe’en, then my 40th bday and then of course, the highlight of the year, Christmas.  I know how quickly this year has already flown by so I’m truly going to savour the last 12 weeks of 2011.

§ 15 Responses to Project 2011 – Week 40

  • Shady Lady says:

    Hmmm…not posting when you said you would?! I would never do that! 😉 LOL Yes, I’m here reading. Can you believe it?! It’s nice to stop by and visit.

    On the weight loss front, I’m still living a Paleo/Primal lifestyle with splurges now and again and being successful. To date, I’ve lost 40 pounds. I’m still stunned. I know I keep beating the drum…you can tell me to shut up. I don’t mind. 🙂 Working out it a bit more sporadic.

    We’re looking forward to the holidays and can’t believe how fast they’re coming up. We’re looking forward to Halloween in our house and planning for our Thanksgiving in November. Trying not to think too hard about Hanukka yet. As for New Years celebrations…I’m so not ready to think about that.

  • Sheri says:

    Hey! So great to see you around. 😀 40lbs? Wow…that’s awesome. Beat away, maybe it’ll eventually sink in. We’re still eating more Paleo than not but obviously not enough that it shows on any of our waistlines.

    Maybe we’ll try a 30 day all Paleo challenge just to see how it goes. It really is not easy though…we’re just so used to the darn carbs.

    I’m looking forward to “getting ready” for the holidays. Decorating, Christmas crafts and cards, setting up the tree…but not quite ready for the actual celebrations and get togethers etc… And New Year’s, forget about it…not even on the radar yet. 😀

    • Shady Lady says:

      That is exactly what to do!! A 30 day challenge can change everything. Once you get past the 30 days, following the eating style completely, it gets so much easier. I’m here to support you, even though it’s long distance. If you need recipe ideas or ways to add things to the dinner plate (or breakfast or lunch) to make it complete, please ask!! With how you enjoy cooking, this will be a wonderful experience for you. 🙂 And yes, I still can’t believe it when I look in the mirror, or try clothes on.

      I’m hoping to make some more decorations this year. I don’t know if that will happen, but we’ve got a decent amount in our holiday boxes. You should post photos of your seasonal decorations as the holidays come!

  • Sheri says:

    I think I may just take you up on that. I’m guessing it’s a good idea to have a firm plan in place and not try to just wing it…am I right in that?

    Like have meals planned well in advance, strict shopping lists and a list of Paleo snacks up on the fridge for easy reference…stuff like that? It’s just too easy to slap a piece of bread in the toaster and call it breakfast or a snack. 😀

    Anyway, when I’m really geared up…give me about a week or so…I’ll send you and e-mail. I truly welcome your input and support. Hubby’s lucky, he’s got a buddy at work who’s totally Paleo and so he’ll have at work support.

    I really am keen to give it a go, but I am a little intimidated by this carb flu I’ve heard and read about…did you experience it? If so, was it as bad as some say?

    • Shady Lady says:

      I would love it if you took me up on it! Having a firm plan, meal plans – breakfast, lunch, dinner AND snacks – is critical, especially in the beginning. Shoot me an email when you’re ready. I’ll give you ideas for meals, including how to complete them and snack ideas, as well as recipes for meals and snacks.

      And yes, when you’re geared up, let me know! It’s great to have support from a buddy, but it’s awesome that hubby will be there to support you!

      I did not have carb flu. Freckles did. It’s really worth kicking the addiction. Like I said, I’ve lost 40 pounds now. I’m in a size 6 (sometimes a 4) and I’m 46, almost 47, years old. I never thought this was possible.

      The big thing is that I have not worked out excessively or even a lot. I work out once (sometimes twice) a week, but sometimes I skip weeks. Exercise builds strength and stamina, it does not facilitate weight loss. You can work your ass off (figuratively), but you will not work your ass off (literally). I’ve never been a workout fiend, but Freckles was. She worked out so hard everyday and got no results. Now she works out maybe half as hard, but has changed the way she eats. That’s when she saw results.

      One of the nice things about this lifestyle is that you can splurge every once in a while (although, I still recommend avoiding gluten like the plague) and it’s okay. I’ve splurged – on the camping trip, beach weekends, holidays – and jump right back into my routine. You’ve got to get your mind set.

      Okay, stepping down off my soapbox. 😉

  • Cate says:

    Okay – count me in that email Shady!! I’ve lost my 15 odd kilos still eating carbs ( gluten free though on the whole, with a cheat day every week – which kind of stretches over a few days now……hmmmm) – but really need to kick things up a notch as I’ve plateaued.

    I can’t believe that we are on the downward slope to Hanukkah / Christmas / New Years! I still feel like I am chasing my tail with my course and am missing enjoying the change of season.

    Sheri, can you please email me your postal address too? Can’t find what I did with it last year! x

  • Cate says:

    We sooooo need to meet up one day………

    Just sayin’……..

  • Sheri says:

    I know eh? Life is just zooming by these days. Though I’d for it to slow down, somehow I doubt that’s likely. 😀

    You got it, I’ll send you that info today. And yes, we do sooooooo need to meet up one day. Hugs.

  • Shady Lady says:

    Ahem, excuse me, but may I please butt in on this meet up? 😀

  • Sheri says:

    Absolutely Shady, it wouldn’t be the same without you. 😀

  • Cate says:

    I was including Shady in the “we need to meet up” – honest!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Project 2011 – Week 40 at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

