My New Kitchen and Turning 40

November 4, 2011 § 6 Comments

In the next week or so I will begin preparations on tearing out, cleaning up and rebuilding my kitchen.  I’m so excited for all of it and I feel fortunate to have a big physical change to coincide with the BIG 4 0, it helps.

I haven’t quite decided yet how I feel about this milestone, having always assumed I’d be tickled pink and thrilled to bits because I did all the hard stuff, like having kids and getting married, early.

The truth is, I also did other stuff…like theatre and music and writing.  Stuff that I was proud I could do, promised myself I would pursue and always meant to get back to.  I want turning 40 to be a reason, not an excuse.

I’m looking forward to my new kitchen and turning 40.

§ 6 Responses to My New Kitchen and Turning 40

  • MrCrow says:

    40 was less traumatic than 30 and waaaay less exciting than 20 (though you and I have completely different perspectives on 20 🙂 ).

    Mmmmm…new kitcheny goodness.

    Way to slide into 40 with grace and beauty, and a giggle to boot.

  • Cate says:

    Girl, if I can see in 46 with a new kitchen and a new career – you will rock in 40, you spring chicken!!!

  • Shady Lady says:

    What Cate said! 😉

    Forties rock . . . truly!! You’ll see. 50 is feeling really close for me (although it’s still a little over 3 years away), but I’m looking forward to it. Each decade just keeps getting better!!

    And what better way to welcome them than with a new kitchen. Good for you!

  • Sheri says:

    You all are so awesome! Thank you. You’re support means so very much to me. I love you guys! 😀 It’s going to be a crazy couple of weeks coming up though.

  • rumpydog says:

    Congrats! You are gonna LOVE 40. It’s when you start to realize that alot of that stuff you THOUGHT was important when you were 20 and 30 really wasn’t. You mourn the loss of youth and beauty- cuz let’s face it, no matter how much plastic surgery women have, those over 40 aren’t considered beautiful by that fickle world out there. But really, you’ll get over that one real quick.

    You’ll begin to truly love that skin you’re in and appreciate yourself for who you are, not for what you weigh or how your hair looks that day.

    It’s a wonderful time! Welcome to the club!

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks Rumpy! I never would have thought you were in your forties. You look about 5 or 6 to me. 😉 Seriously though, I appreciate the very wise and thoughtful comment. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My New Kitchen and Turning 40 at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

