The First Before Pics…A Kitchen Reno

November 6, 2011 § 3 Comments

I took some before pics of the kitchen.  What surprised me most was the sheer chaos.  Granted, the pics are of before I did dishes and tidied up. I thought to “stage” the kitchen, but really, this is what it looks like most of the time anyway.  😀


This is the view from the den, it’s very much a large rectangular butler’s pantry.  Even more so before we, meaning our friend Mike, opened the wall toward the dining room.  You might note in the right corner that the wall is white compared to the vibrant Spring green next to it.  Yeah, I painted the kitchen green 8 years ago and needed Hubby to do some drywall work in that area.  He got the drywall work done, and I…well, let’s call it procrastination gone wild.


This is the view from said opened wall from the dining room.  Egads! It’s a wonder I cook at all.  I do have to admit though, I’m very easily distracted by the view out the kitchen window into my backyard. I watch the birds at the feeder, the squirrels chasing each other on the fence and the cats laying about in their various favourite spots.


Finally, from the previously existing doorway from the dining room.  What I love most about this angle is the magnetic photo holders adorning my fridge.  It’s a wonderful way to see and share photos of family and friends.  I just happened across them at our local dollar store a couple of years ago and thought they were the neatest thing. I’m looking forward to updating them and adding more.

So, there we are. 18 days until the new cabinets are picked up. I definitely have my work cut out for me. And yes, Hubby and I will be doing most of the work ourselves.  Our friend Mike has offered to help with some deconstruction, drywall and installation, but we are still going to totally be hands on for the whole thing.

I’ll be spending the next week cooking meals in batches so that we have enough prepared food that I won’t have to worry about counter space and washing up.  After that, it’s sleeves up and hands dirty until it’s all done.

 

 

§ 3 Responses to The First Before Pics…A Kitchen Reno

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The First Before Pics…A Kitchen Reno at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

