Project 2011 – Week Forty Seven – Finishing Touches

November 30, 2011 § 2 Comments

Oh wow, week 47…for real?  What happened to the year?  As always a grateful hat tip to Cate @ Moments of Whimsy for hosting this sharing of goals and resolutions for 2011.  It’s been quite the ride.

I think it’s sort of appropriate then that the title of this post is “Finishing Touches” as this will likely be my last submission for Project 2011.  It’s time to get ready shed this skin and welcome a whole new one, and yes I think having just turned 40 has something to do with my enthusiasm for a brand spankin’ new year.

But before I go, I said I would do a post about the finishing touches to my kitchen, some turning out much better than others.

First, and foremost for me, was the running water!


If that isn’t a finishing touch, I don’t know what is.  The shiny new double sink is, absolutely awesome, especially without a dishwasher, but without running water…well, you get the idea.

Next it’s the curtains…*sigh*


For all intents and purposes, they’re fine.  They’re thick enough to keep the cold air out, their size is perfect and the colour scheme matches the paint and the counter top.  The thing is, they’re too…uh, um…I don’t know what the word is but I know I’m not crazy about them.

They’ll stay for the winter because they’re practical but I can guarantee you I’ll be looking around for something more suitable.  Good thing the panel only cost me a few dollars and I altered it myself.  😛

Next though is one my favourite finishing touches…


Cast iron “grape” hooks that I’m using to mount a couple of frying pans.  I used to have my entire collection of frying pans mounted but with my new pots and pans drawer it’s no longer necessary.  There’s a third one next to the stove where my potholders are hanging and the best part is that I paid only $2.50 ea for them.

So there you have it, my kitchen’s finishing touches brought to you by frugality, bargain hunting and doing it yourself.

Thanks for all you have been leaving comments in support of this big change. It’s helped a lot to keep me focused and on track.  😀

Now for something completely different…

Here’s Rosie sleeping on her “throne”.  I know, it’s my fault for putting the blanket there…but the seat hurts my butt.

Have a good weekend everyone.

§ 2 Responses to Project 2011 – Week Forty Seven – Finishing Touches

  • Cate says:

    I KNEW that there was a blog post that I was meant to be doing today – duh!! Thanks for the reminder 🙂

    Love the finishing touches – yep, running water is always a bonus hehe. And your sink and grapevine hooks are fab. I still need to get all of my final pics up – mind you, I am still without curtains……

  • Sheri says:

    Cate – Actually, the project 2011 part was an afterthought. I honestly forgot too. Can’t wait to your pics too, I know you’ve been living with major renos for much much longer than I had to. 😀

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Project 2011 – Week Forty Seven – Finishing Touches at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

