Happy 2012

December 19, 2011 § 2 Comments

What? Oh, I know…you’re thinking there’s still 12 days left of 2011.  Not to mention Christmas happens to fall smack dab in the middle of those 12 days.

Well, of course I’m aware of that and even though I am looking forward to Christmas dinner, which we are hosting and I’m cooking my first ever turkey (for 14 people – I sure hope it turns out), hanging out with my family and just generally enjoying the holiday.

Nonetheless, my brain can’t help but occasionally looking beyond all that toward the upcoming New Year.  I’ve never been so eager for a January 1st and I’m honestly not even sure why.

There are no big plans for 2012; no renovations, no major purchases, no fancy vacations, no monumental happenings of any kind.  (Unless of course the Mayans actually knew more than they let on.)

In my 40 years on this planet, it just might be the first year that I feel truly comfortable in my skin. A year where I’m checking in without all my baggage.  A year where freedom is actually a tangible thing that I’m going in with and not merely a hope or a goal to be achieved at some point during the year.

It is relief, wrapped in optimism, bundled with confidence and eagerness. It is finally knowing that, “Yes Virginia Sheri, you really are a grown up now, isn’t it awesome!”

Bring it on baby!  😀

§ 2 Responses to Happy 2012

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Happy 2012 at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

