Happy Christmas Eve

December 24, 2011 § 4 Comments

Personally, I enjoy Christmas Eve more than I do Christmas morning.  I think the anticipation that builds over the course of the afternoon and evening is a much more serene experience than that of the frenzied opening, ooohing, aaahing, thanking and tripping over wrapping paper before you’ve had two sips of your now lost coffee…

And despite the joy of cooking for family, feasting and the general cheerful gathering, I know I will be wrought with concern over the amount of food (I’m worried my turkey is too small) and quality of the meal (I’ve never cooked a turkey before).

But today, it’s Christmas Eve and I’m sure about what I got done today…


there’s the date squares (defrosting), just iced gingerbread men (that I also defrosted), two freshly made pumpkin pies (baked in frozen pie crust), a genuinely just baked (nothing defrosted) apple cranberry crumble and a jar and half of homemade cranberry sauce.

Mid baking I happen to wander by this adorable scene and couldn’t resist…

a Christmas Eve catnap.  Too cute.  See, now that’s serenity right there folks.

Finally, it was time to play Santa and start putting presents under the tree…that’s fun. What’s even more fun is that I got such a head start on my shopping and wrapping, I don’t remember what some of it is.  That makes it even more fun.  😛


Whatever you are celebrating this season, may it be joyous, endearing, loving and giving!

Happy Holidays!

 

§ 4 Responses to Happy Christmas Eve

  • Shady Lady says:

    Happy Christmas to you and your family!! I know that the turkey was fabulous, right? 🙂

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks Shady! Hehe, turkey is tomorrow. Tonight it’s roast beef and Hubby’s cooking. 😛 I’ll let you know though. 😛

  • Cate says:

    Hoping that you have had a wonderful Christmas my friend! I had every intention of getting cards into the mail etc etc – but got nothing done this year.

    Was thinking of you though, and wish you and the family a wonderful 2012 xx

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks Cate! We did have a wonderful Christmas, thanks. No worries, I don’t need a card to know that you’re my friend. 😛 Wishing you and yours a wonderful New Year as well. “See” ya in 2012.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Happy Christmas Eve at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

