Cauliflower – Who Knew?

January 7, 2012 § 3 Comments

Did you know you can cook cauliflower to get the same consistency as mash potatoes?  That’s cool, right?!  But did you know you can also chop, grate or process cauliflower to get the same consistency as rice?

I had no idea. Thanks Shady!


There is the giant head of cauliflower Hubby brought home from the grocery store today. I used about 1/5 of it for tonight’s stuffed pepper dinner.

First I sauteed some onions, celery and garlic in butter until soft. I then added some lean ground beef and cooked until brown. I added canned (drained) diced tomatoes and let that simmer on med low for about 20 minutes.

Then I grated raw cauliflower until I had about 2 cups and added that to the mixture and continued simmering. After another 10 minutes I added leftover meat sauce and turned the heat down letting it simmer.

I cored and cleaned four large green bell peppers and stuffed them with the meat/cauliflower mixture. And put the tops back on for the picture.  😛


Then I took the tops back off, added cheese and put the tops back on.

I used the remaining meat/cauliflower sauce to line the pan and baked them at 325 F  covered.  After 40 minutes, I turned the oven off and removed the cover and let stand until we were ready to eat.

*Update: When I wrote this post the peppers were still in the oven and I never did say how they turned out. Well, they were awesome! Satisfying and filling, we only ate one each and were stuffed. The last one is in the fridge and calling my name.  😀

§ 3 Responses to Cauliflower – Who Knew?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cauliflower – Who Knew? at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

