Our 30 Day Paleo Challenge – An Update

January 18, 2012 § 3 Comments

Well, we’re coming up on the 2/3 mark for our challenge.

As persome very kind and sound advice, I’ve managed to stay away from the scale so I have no idea if I’ve lost anymore weight or if I’ve even gained any. Truthfully, it matters less and less to me everyday.

What I can say is that for the last 16 days I have not had a single slice of bread or grain of rice or piece of potato (or potato chips/crisps). I did have pizza once, pasta once and breaded chicken wings once and each time I ate those things I felt bloated, tired and just plain yucky. The next morning’s constitutionals were no picnic either.

Overall though, with a mostly Paleo diet for the last two and a half weeks, I’ve lost a bit of girth around my waist, my breasts don’t feel as tight, my butt is slightly higher and my face has remained clear (I suffer from mild to moderate – depending on my cycle – adult acne).  More importantly, I still a much better sense of well being and my cravings, though still there, aren’t as consuming or distracting.

Also gone is a lot of the negative inner dialogue I was having about what I was eating. Almost every time I ate I used to say to myself things like; “Don’t eat too much of that”, “Does your waistline really need another handful of those”, “You’re going to regret this tomorrow”.

Now I’m saying things like; “Yummy”,  “Who knew cauliflower could taste so good” and “More, please”.  Eating has become more of a joy and something I look forward to sharing with my family as opposed to something I have to do just to survive.  Does that make sense?

And don’t get me started on the cooking! Cooking is much easier and more rewarding now. When you consider that a great deal of our diet is raw foods, well…it’s just a matter of cooking the protein and some of the veggies, many times in the same pan or pot. How easy is that?

I will be looking into some Paleo baking recipes. Our current diet as it is is fine for the challenge but if we’re going to get serious about this, I need to make things that we can incorporate to transition from challenge/diet into lifestyle.

Oh, I haven’t mentioned the exercise…well, that’s because there’s nothing to tell right now. Mid winter in Eastern Canada is a tough time to start an exercise regimen. It’s just really hard to exercise when it’s so freakin’ cold that you put on your housecoat as soon as you take off your overcoat. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.  😉

Rumpy made a request for some spinach recipes because Jen, his human, loves spinach. I’m going to take that request one step further and post a Paleo recipe of the week.  Watch for it Rump!  😀

Hope everyone is having a good week out there in blogland!

 

§ 3 Responses to Our 30 Day Paleo Challenge – An Update

  • Shady Lady says:

    I cannot begin to tell you how thrilled I am to hear that things are going so well. I can tell you that I am not at all surprised. This $#!% works!!! And yes, the food is amazingly delicious. In fact, I had my favorite coconut flour brownie today…so good! I’ll have to send you the recipe. 🙂

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks Shady! Your support these last couple of weeks have been immeasurable and has a great deal to do with my sticking with it. Thanks for the encouragement, support, advice, links and virtual hugs. Mmmmm brownies? Wow. Can’t wait.

  • Cate says:

    Good on you girls 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Our 30 Day Paleo Challenge – An Update at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

