I’m Alive, Really

February 26, 2012 § 6 Comments

Hi all! Just a note and a pic to let you know that I’m still alive and what I’ve been up to.  I haven’t written lately because all I’ve been doing is whinging about winter, despite it being one of the mildest and shortest we’ve ever had. Still, it’s not winter if we’re not complaining that it’s not Spring. Hehe.

Anywho, recently Hubby and I have discovered the fun of auctions. Yep, where you stand (or sit if you show up early enough) in a crowded room with a large number and hold it up to buy someone else’s old crap. There’s something very exciting about the whole thing, especially if you’re partial to junk because really, that is the majority of what’s for sale.

For years, I’ve been a casual collector of candle and oil lamps. There’s not one room in my house that doesn’t have some sort of non electrical light source. I think this might have something to do with my love of thunderstorms, particularly when we lose power. It’s pretty much the only time I actually get to use them.

Well, it turns out that auctions are a great source for old kerosene and oil lamps. For me, it’s a virtual treasure trove and in just two auctions I’ve acquired over a half dozen. Unfortunately, most of them have burners that are rusted or broken and all them came needing a good cleaning.


These are a few of my favourites. The amber one I inherited from my grandmother who passed away a couple of years ago, the rest are auction finds. It’s been interesting to research the burners to find replacements and I finally managed to get an order through today. I’m so excited to get the parts, finish cleaning up the lamps and fill them with kerosene.

I may just have to pretend we had a power outage to try them all out. As long as the computers work I don’t think Hubby and Daughter will care much. They’re used to that sort of thing. You should have seen me when I was into making medieval nightgowns and bonnets. Yes, I actually wore (still do on occasion) them around the house.

Is 40 to young to be considered eccentric?  Maybe I’m just weird.  😛

Hope all is well with you guys and I’ll be making the rounds soon to catch up on my commenting.

§ 6 Responses to I’m Alive, Really

  • Shady Lady says:

    I would think that an auction would be rather exciting…especially when you’re bidding on something you love. Fun!!!

  • Sheri says:

    Hi Shady! Yes, they are exciting but can be expensive if you get caught up in the game. Lucky for us, no one seemed as interested in the oil lamps and we got a really good deal on them. Didn’t pay more than a few dollars for each. In fact, the replacement parts I just ordered cost twice as much as we paid for all 8 lamps we’ve bought so far. 😀

  • Sheri says:

    Yep! Truthfully, I wasn’t even aware you could buy replacement parts until I did the research. I don’t mind paying the money for new burners knowing that my lamps will be in good working order…for the very rare occasions I get to use them. At least I’m confident if there’s a blackout we’ll have plenty of lighting. 😉

  • Cate says:

    I love oil lamps – they will look wonderful lit.

    I’m still here too…..you are definitely in for an early spring. While you have moaned about your winter, you know that I have moaned about our lack of summer and now autumn has definitely arrived downunder. The warmth is headed your way my friend!

  • Sheri says:

    Cate, I totally agree. The perfect ambiance for me is a lit oil lamp. 😀

    You said it about the early Spring… +12 here today and most of the snow is already gone. Above seasonal for the rest of the week…woohoo.

    We’re taking the plastic off the windows tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I’m Alive, Really at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

