Randomness

April 17, 2012 § 5 Comments

Well, things are back to normal around here. Temperatures are typical for Spring again, sunny and cool, which is nice. Guinness is back home with his family and happy to be amongst his people again.

I’ve lost a bit of the momentum I had last week and haven’t made much more progress on the Spring cleaning/decluttering. I’m good with that though because I did get quite the head start.

Hubby and Daughter have their tickets for next month’s Comic Con and both are very excited. It’s the first time such a high profile exhibition has come to our city and some pretty big names will be visiting. Daughter is most keen to meet Patrick Stewart from Star Trek, though I think secretly Hubby is even more so.

The convention is the weekend of May 12-13 which happens to coincide with both our Anniversary (12) and Mother’s Day (13). I might have been upset about this back when we were first married but now I’m actually excited. Even though the event takes place in our city, Hubby and Daughter are going to get a hotel room close to the convention centre and make a weekend out it.

For me that means 1 night and 2 whole days to MYSELF.ย  And for that, I’m not at all bothered about postponing any celebrations for those special days. Of course, I was invited to go along with them but it’s really not my cup of tea and it allows me some much needed JUST ME time.

The big question of course is WHAT WILL I DO with this precious time? You know, I haven’t the first clue.

I could list all the typical standbys; have a bubble bath, invite some friends over and have girl time, go out to a movie or a concert, read a book (undisturbed), do something crafty etc…

I could list all the typical NOT DOINGs as well; house/yard work, laundry, cooking, bookkeeping etc…

But since this is a very atypical experience for me, the last time I had such the luxury was three years ago, I’ve thought maybe I should try doing something really out of my comfort zone, something that will remind me of my individuality (separateness from wife and mom), something COOL.

Any ideas? Because seriously, I am a total loss. Good thing I have three weeks to figure it out.ย  ๐Ÿ˜€

§ 5 Responses to Randomness

  • shadyladypdx says:

    Wow! I can’t even begin to imagine that kind of time to myself. I haven’t spent one day away from Princess since I was pregnant with her. I don’t even know what I would do . . . or even know how to act. I look forward to hearing suggestions and to finding out what you decide to do. I’m excited for you!!!

  • Sheri says:

    Really Shady? Not one day? She’s never slept over at Freckles’ place even? I can’t imagine that. Of course for you it’s just simply the way it is and totally normal. For me, it’s been an adaptation to spending so much time with Daughter. She spent a lot more time away before we started homeschooling. She had school, sleepovers at friends’, her cousins’, her grandparents’ and Girl Guide campouts. Even when I was a young single parent, Son’s father took him every other weekend so I had to learn to find things to do by myself.

    Funny how experiences can be so different. And thanks, I’m excited for me too. You know, even if I end up vegging on the couch for two days watching T.V., it’ll still be great. I’m not pressuring myself to come up with something amazing but I would like to “Carpe Diem”. ๐Ÿ˜›

    • shadyladypdx says:

      Sheri, not only has she not slept in another house, she has only slept in a different bed a handful of times. We still co-sleep. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, experiences are so very different.

      Vegging on the couch sounds divine to me!!

  • Sheri says:

    Ah, attatchment parenting, before my time. When Son was born there wasn’t such a thing…at least I’d never heard of it. By the time I did hear about it, when we started looking into homeschooling, Daughter was 11 and quite past that stage. I’m sure we missed out on some real bonding though.

  • Cate says:

    Vegging on the couch with no meals to cook for anyone else sounds divine – although I am reknown for my hermit tendencies….

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Randomness at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

