Gardening and Other Stuff

May 7, 2012 § 3 Comments

I don’t have pics just yet so that might make this post a little boring to read, I thought I’d post it anyway.

What a weird Spring we’ve had and the ridiculous +27 degrees C temps in mid-March wreaked havoc on a lot of people’s gardens. Flowers started sprouting and in some cases even blooming when they still should have had another 6 weeks of sleep.

The tulip bulbs I planted 2 years ago, that I thought the squirrels had gotten to, came up way too early and at first I was excited. Then I was mortified when I saw the squirrels had decided to eat the buds right off the tops. Arrrggggh.

I’ve been trying to catch up but the weather is not co-operating at all. For every nice day we’ve had since March, we’ve had a corresponding week of rain and cold winds. This week is no exception and though I did manage to clean out one flower bed yesterday, I have two more that likely won’t get done until Friday after the rain that’s forecast for the rest of the week.

That’s not even getting into the veggie garden, which still needs to be cleared of last year’s stems, weeded, soiled and seeded.

This weekend coming is Comic Con which Hubby and Daughter are attending, that I am not.  Though I’m still thrilled to have two whole days to myself, I’m thinking that I will probably do quite a bit of gardening just because I’m anxious to finally get some flowers in the ground.

Other than that though, I’ve not made any plans for my weekend and I’m really looking forward to some very rare and precious me time.

§ 3 Responses to Gardening and Other Stuff

  • shadyladypdx says:

    We’ve had the crazy weather here, too. Although this week the weather is supposed to be beautiful.

    I hope you get a good amount of gardening time, as well as some much deserved down time this weekend. Can’t wait to hear how it goes! 🙂

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks Shady! I hope you’re getting nice weather…it’s been raining here, though today we got some sun so some yard work got done. 😀

  • Cate says:

    You’ve certainly heard plenty about the summer that never came down here. Think the whole world’s a little mad weather-wise this year!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Gardening and Other Stuff at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

