Back to Normal

May 14, 2012 § 4 Comments

So, after my little “I miss them” pity party, which lasted all of 20 minutes, I put on my big girl panties and got down to the business of enjoying my just me time.

It was actually great. I watched some t.v., by early evening there was actually a few interesting shows coming on and I did a lot of flipping back and forth, finally settling on a historical fiction docudrama type show. Perfect!  I threw some leftover pot roast in a pan with some bacon grease, threw is some green pepper, celery and onion and called it dinner. Delicious! I poured myself a LARGE glass of Chardonnay and plunked myself on the couch and just sat there zoning, for hours. Amazing!

Unfortunately, I did not sleep well and was waking up every couple of hours. Most of the time I was able to get back to sleep in no time but at 4am I had trouble and was awake until 6am. That was a bit frustrating but I did eventually fall back to sleep for a couple more hours and finally got up on the later side of 9am. Bliss!

I spent my Sunday doing mostly gardening and cleaning up under the tree. It was a mess of last year’s fall leaves, fallen branches and weeds. I got quite a bit done and impressed myself with my sticktoitiveness.

I took a break from that to prepare dinner for Hubby and Daughter’s return. I know, I know, it was Mother’s Day and I cooked. Blasphemy eh? No, I figured it was the least I could do since I did have two days to myself. It all balances out the way I see it. Besides, the two of them were exhausted and extremely grateful to not have to worry about it.

I wanted to get the plants my friend and I bought on Saturday in the ground but Hubby insisted on taking me out for a quick Anniversary date, like I was going to say no.  We came back home, had dinner and all three of us had a big family flake out. It was great.

Of course that means that I have my work cut out for me this week.

I have 11 plants to get in the ground as soon as possible and the truth is, I have no idea what I’m doing.  I’m totally going to be winging it.  Hosta and violets I’m okay with, but I’ve never tried anything more complicated than that.  Should be fun. I’ll take a couple of pics when it’s all done.

Hope everyone has a great week.

§ 4 Responses to Back to Normal

  • shadyladypdx says:

    Glad to see you finally got around to enjoying your down time!

    Oh! And Happy Anniversary!!! 🙂

  • Sheri says:

    Shady, I did enjoy my downtime but realized I enjoy my family more. Not a bad thing. 😀 Me and Hubby both thank you for you well wishes. 😀

  • Cate says:

    I’m glad that you did enjoy your time off – and you inspired me years ago with your planting under your tree. The hubby just threw a few more bulbs into the ground under our tree last weekend, so hopefully I’ll have pics for you in September 🙂

  • […] was it worth all the work though.  Such a difference from the barren waste land that it was just a couple of weeks ago.  I’m beginning to understand why people do this sort […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Back to Normal at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

