Paleo Challenge – Revisited

May 29, 2012 § 2 Comments

Back in January, we decided to try out a 30 day Paleo Challenge.  While it went well for the duration, we had a lot of difficulty keeping up with it and absolutely no trouble falling back into our old eating and lifestyle habits.  *sigh*

Well, we’ve decided to give it another go and for the next 30 days (and hopefully beyond) we will endeavour to eat like cavemen once again. I do feel much more confident this time because we did maintain some of what we started back in January.  Things like coconut milk and almonds have remained staples and we still eat raw (except for eggs and meat) more often than not.

I’m very sure that the cravings for sugar and salty snacks will not be as severe this time around and I’ve already modified a few of my muffin recipes to make them more Paleo.  Today I stepped even further out of my comfort zone and made a batch of zucchini muffins without any sugar or butter, substituting with honey and unsweetened apple sauce, respectively.

These muffins bring a whole new meaning to moist and you almost have to eat them with a spoon. Hey, maybe I just invented something here.  Honestly, I will have to modify the recipe to make them a little firmer because they’re not really practical for an on the go snack, which is the idea of a muffin, right? I’ll post the recipe once I’ve perfected it.

Nevertheless, they are very yummy even if not nearly as sweet as I’m used to. Maybe next time I’ll add some dried cranberries to bump up the sweetness a touch.

😀

§ 2 Responses to Paleo Challenge – Revisited

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Paleo Challenge – Revisited at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

