Is That Paleo?

June 2, 2012 § 2 Comments

That has become the question of the day around here.  Is what we are thinking of cooking and eating actually Paleo?

You know what? It’s kind of getting on my nerves.

Mostly because I’m not really sure; meal to meal that I make, recipe to recipe that I research, article to article that I read.

And can someone tell me the difference between Paleo and Primal? From what I gather there’s a very fine line but one that still exists.  Is it about eating dairy or meat or simply a difference in philosophy?

All I really know is that I’m much more conscious of the foods we are consuming and I’m making painstaking efforts to make sure we’re staying away from refined and liquidized sugars, unnecessary starches and chemically based preservatives.

Which means I’ve been trying hard to stay away from almost EVERYTHING in the grocery store.  Because aside from fruit, vegetables, meat, eggs and nuts…it’s not Paleo.

*sigh* 

Thank goodness for honey.

§ 2 Responses to Is That Paleo?

  • Shady Lady says:

    Oh my… I find it easiest to focus on the things I can eat (i.e. things that make me feel good as opposed to feeling crappy) and the amazingly delicious things that I can cook with those foods. The basic thing is to eat food, not processed crap. Someone once said, “just because you can eat it, doesn’t make it food”.

    Yes, eat meat, saturated fats, eggs, veggies, fruits and nuts. The difference between “Paleo” and “Primal” is the dairy. But even in Primal, you don’t want to overdo the dairy and it’s best raw or fermented and always full fat…none of that low fat or nonfat garbage. I eat a little bit of cheese and plain yogurt on occasion and some heavy cream.

    The best recipe website is http://fastpaleo.com/ because people from all over the blogosphere submit their recipes there.

    And if you need anything, Sheri, ANYTHING, please email me. 🙂

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks Shady. That was just a bit of a rant. Overall, we’re doing well. I was getting a bit confused about the difference between Paleo and Primal. I totally agree with the low, nonfat stuff…just read the ingredients, loaded with sugar and/or glucose. Our dairy consumption is mostly greek yogurt, no sugar. Thanks for the link. And I promise I will e-mail you when I’m at a loss. 😛

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Is That Paleo? at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

