Fireplace Room Becomes Library – Part One

June 28, 2012 § 3 Comments

I’m so excited about this project. It’s been a long time stewing in my brain and I have been tucking away thoughts and ideas for over 10 ten years.  5 years ago I even did a post, on one of my old blogs, about removing the paneling and replacing the wall.

Well, it seems that’s all it took to get the ball rolling. While I was at my girlfriend’s cottage this weekend, Hubby and a buddy removed the last of the paneling, tore out the old cement glue covered wall and put up fresh drywall.  All of that, unbeknownst to me. What a sweetie! You know, some women like jewelry or to be taken on a nice vacation.  Not me, put up new drywall or fix a backed up sink and I’m putty in your hands.  😛

And this is what the rest of the room looks like…

As you can see, I’ve clearly got my work cut out for me.  We’re finishing the wall, painting the entire room, ripping up the carpet and putting in hardwood flooring, replacing the track lighting and having custom bookshelves built (We Love Our Friend Mike), which I will be painting myself.

Oh, and I’ve picked the colour, I think. It’s down to two shades of the same blue grey. What I’m going for is something soft and serene that compliments the kitchen colours as well as the woodwork.

Focus on the shadowed part of the paint chip to get an actual idea of the colour. As I’ve said a dozen times, I’m no photographer. It’s between those two for now. But as is often the case with projects like this, things can change. Right now the job at hand is to finish mudding the wall and then prime the entire room, including the paneling above the fireplace.

Then we’ll go from there.  😀

§ 3 Responses to Fireplace Room Becomes Library – Part One

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fireplace Room Becomes Library – Part One at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

