Fireplace Room To Library – Part Five – Phew!

July 6, 2012 § 2 Comments

Sorry folks, another pictureless post.  It’s not that I’m not taking pictures, I am, it’s just that they’re all of the same thing and frankly, they’re really boring.

The room is painted, second coat notwithstanding, and everything is good to go for the floor to be put in, removing carpet also notwithstanding.  Both notwithstandings easily remedied by a few minutes and an extra pair of big strong man hands.  😛

Honestly, with this heat, I’m surprised I managed to get as much done this week as I have. Having the kitchen reno – done in November – as a comparison, I’ve completely resolved to NEVER again undertake a major renovation project in the summer.

The difference between the two experiences is totally palpable and I have to wonder what I was thinking. With the kitchen renovation, the painting was easy and neither made me sweat nor made me feel like I was going to pass out after 20 minutes. In November we could open the window and let in the cool autumn breeze to help air out the room and dry the paint more quickly.

Did you know that extreme humidity is not conducive to paint drying? I didn’t. Of course, in retrospect, it makes perfect sense but I honestly didn’t even give it a thought. The things we learn by doing.

In any case, the new hardwood floor goes in tomorrow and I most excited by the fact that I’m not required to assist. With three capable men on the job, I get to leave when they get started and come back when they are finishing. Gotta love it.

Next post on the subject will have some more before and after pictures, promise.

I hope everyone has a great weekend.  😀

 

§ 2 Responses to Fireplace Room To Library – Part Five – Phew!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fireplace Room To Library – Part Five – Phew! at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

