I Live For Moments Like This

July 26, 2012 § 4 Comments

People ask me, “So what do you do?”

I mostly feel awkward, unsure and lesser than, when answering, “I’m a stay at home Mom.”

My kids are almost 24 and just turned 17.

No, neither are scholars or have any academic accolades. Neither have been champions or even competitors sports wise. Both are products of their environment and are skeptics of standardized anything. They both are avid gamers and spend much of their time in the pursuit of happiness.

And yes, we have encouraged this. We allowed them to shun traditional schooling to try out life instead. We gave them permission and fought with school administrations and boards so they could live freer, less conditional lives.  Over the last 6 years our kids have been and are still encouraged and supported in taking classes that interest them while not being forced to sit through ones they aren’t.  Both of them have successfully completed a college course while neither has a high school diploma.

When questioned about unschooling, 6 years later, I still occasionally get my hackles my up. But more often than not, these days, I feel sorry for the person who still believes that a traditional, brick and mortar, 30 hours a week of inside a classroom, education is the only way to raise happy, healthy, intelligent kids.

Because it’s just not true.

And I live for moments like this. When I see my kids together, happy, interacting, discussing their latest WoW adventures and just in general, smiling.  Or making goofy faces for the camera.

§ 4 Responses to I Live For Moments Like This

  • shadyladypdx says:

    I absolutely adore this post. Of course, you knew that I would. You have explained so beautifully why we also live this amazing unschooling life. Thank you, Sheri!!

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks Shady!! Yeah, I did kind of know you would relate. 😀

    It’s still not easy to explain unschooling to people who ask but I’m more confident in my replies now. Even if, at the time, I think I sound like an idiot.

    I’m starting to understand that they’re confused by the concept and it has nothing to do with how I’m trying to explain it. I could draw some people diagrams and they still wouldn’t get it.

    “What about Prom?”

    *roll eyes*

    • shadyladypdx says:

      My favorite explanation of unschooling is Jeff Sabo’s “Guy on the Plane”. It rocks!
      http://justabaldman.blogspot.com/2010/08/guy-on-plane.html

      Funny thing about the prom question, we actually have a homeschool prom here in Portland, Oregon. 😉 Of course, looking back on my school days, I would have been fine without the prom and would have been even better had I been unschooled. 😀

      • Sheri says:

        Thanks for linking the article Shady. I love that post. I’ve read it before but it’s nice to see it again and remind myself I’m not the only one who finds it awkward to try and explain unschooling to people.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Live For Moments Like This at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

