They Grow up So Fast

September 3, 2012 § 3 Comments

Just checking in.  Things are finally settling down and the hub bub of summer, and 7 family birthdays in 8 weeks, is coming to a close. Thank goodness!

Only one more birthday to go until the end of November and that’s Son next week.  He’s turning 24…gak!

How did I come to be the mother of a 24 four year old baby child kid teen young adult man?  Of course that’s totally rhetorical, I know exactly how it happened.  😛

Anyway, it’s not just Son turning 24 in 5 days…we also had a 19th birthday/going away to college dinner for my nephew, with whom I am very close.  My sister said she’d kill me if I started crying because it would set her off.  We both managed to stay dry eyed but there were a lot of hugs and well wishes, enough to embarrass Nephew.

It makes me lament a little…okay, right now, a lot.

Time just goes so fast and they grow up so quickly.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t miss 2 am feedings, potty training or temper tantrums. I do miss a whole lot of other things though.  Camping and cook outs, teaching them to swim in the pool, pumpkin carving for Halloween, seasonal crafts, cooking baking for Christmas, sleepovers, movies and even just trips to the park when we packed juice boxes and crackers with peanut butter.

Oh dear. I am being a sad sack aren’t I? I think I’ll end this here and know that I’ll regain my perspective and see all this as the positive changes they are.  I just wish it would slow down a touch.  😉

 

 

 

 

§ 3 Responses to They Grow up So Fast

  • shadyladypdx says:

    Oh Sheri . . . I hear you! Princess’ birthday is coming up very soon and it occurred to me that it will be her last single digit year. At this moment in time, that’s all I can handle thinking about. Twenty-something?!?! Eek! I’m sure there are lots of positives about that age, too. I’m just not ready for it. 😉 Good thing I’ve got a ways to go, but of course, it will go by so quickly.

  • Sheri says:

    Oh wow, is Princess really 9 already? Have we been at this that long? 😉

    See? That’s how quick it goes by. 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading They Grow up So Fast at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

