You’re Asking Me?

September 5, 2012 § 2 Comments

So right on the tails of the last post, I get a text from a friend who is thinking about homeschooling.

I’m paraphrasing here, but it went something like…

“I’m curious about homeschooling and was wondering about the curriculum you use and how you test.”

We arranged to get together later this week and just chat.  She can ask questions and I’ll do my best to answer them.  I am a little nervous though because I’m not sure how much information is too much.

Though we started out with an attempt at curriculum and worksheets, we’ve come so far from that way of thinking. We just live. We just do what we want. We take interest courses, hang out with our friends, spend time on our computers and watch Dr. Who.

We all cook and garden, do our own laundry, take care of our pets and clean the house. We go on vacation, go to museums and go out for dinner. Like I said, we just live.  We don’t “do” curriculum and tests just for the sake of it. (Though she is considering thinking about maybe sometime testing for her learning driver’s permit. Eek!)

Anywho…my point?  Yes!  My friend wants some information and advice on homeschooling.  I don’t want to try to convert her to any particular ideology or process.  I don’t use the term radical unschooler, though I’m well aware that’s “technically” what we are, mostly because of how it unnerved me the first time I encountered it. Honestly, it put me off because of the general association of the term. I was ready to be a little different, off the beaten path, out of the box even, but outright radical?

That was a little heady for me back then and in that respect, I have put together a short list of the resources I found most helpful when I started out.  A point in the general direction, lots of support, heaps of encouragement and a few words of wisdom.

Yeah, well…it’s the few words of wisdom part I’m having trouble with.

Any takers?  What basic words of advice would you give someone who is thinking about homeschooling?

Yes Shady, I’m looking at you.  Do you see anyone else here?  😉

§ 2 Responses to You’re Asking Me?

  • shadyladypdx says:

    ROFL!!! You crack me up, Sheri!

    Hmmmm. My words of advice…let’s see…

    I could talk about learning styles and which books are good and different ways of learning, but I think I’ll go with this instead:

    It’s not as hard as you think it is. You’re not going to screw up your kid. You will likely have days that you want to throw in the towel and send them to school…don’t worry, it’ll pass. You will have times that you question if you’re doing it right. That is completely normal. What I’ve started to do in those times of panic is to sit back and observe and look for all of the things they are learning in every moment of every day.

    So, what d’ya think, Sheri? Good advice?

  • Sheri says:

    Yes Shady, I think that’s excellent advice. It universally applies to all forms of homeschooling/unschooling and it’s probably one of the biggest issues people have going against the norm. Especially when they have family and friends questioning what they’re doing, which my friend will have in spades. Thanks so much for your input, I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading You’re Asking Me? at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

