Tragedy and Faith

December 18, 2012 § 3 Comments

I can not escape the impact of the Sandy Hook School shootings and I don’t even live in the same country.

As a Canadian my view about gun control is much different than many of my southern neighbours, where the tragedy occurred.

Why do normal, everyday, law abiding, metropolitan living citizens even feel they need to own a gun?  I can understand if you lived in the woods and hunted game for your food.

What I don’t subscribe to or believe is that if my American neighbours banned guns is that there would be a rise in violent crime. We live in a gun control society and our violent crime rate is not higher. This most recent incident being a perfect example.

If said young man hadn’t had access to multiple guns and ammunition, 20 children would be with their families right now instead of in a morgue. The argument that guns don’t kill people is pure bullshit. Guns DO kill people, in droves, little kids in numbers, without discrimination.

If said young man had showed up with only his fists and a knife, let’s say, he would not have been able to do as much damage as he did.  Yes, granted, irreparable damage would have been done. But not on the scale that it was because a sick young man had access to multiple, quick firing, remorseless weapons.

As much compassion as I feel for my southern neighbours, I’m ever glad that I live, and store my faith, in a country that puts the right to health care before the right to weapons ownership.

§ 3 Responses to Tragedy and Faith

  • shadyladypdx says:

    Oh Sheri, this is such an excellent post on so many levels. I know your heart breaks for the families. But the points you have made I am completely in agreement with. You hit the nail on the head. I keep hoping that my country will change, will get its priorities straight…maybe one day.

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks Shady. I thought of deleting the post as soon as I posted it. I know how controversial the issues are and how sensitive everyone is right now as a result of this incident.

    I worried I might offend people but at the same time couldn’t ignore how strong my feelings are about it. So sad, so unnecessary and so damn preventable.

    I really appreciate your feedback and am glad that I struck a chord that I’m sure many of your fellow citizens share.

    Hugs.

    • shadyladypdx says:

      I read this post to LK. The last line is very powerful for both of us. And yes, I have many friends who feel the same way, too.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tragedy and Faith at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

