Organize 2013 – Update #3b

April 16, 2013 § 2 Comments

Wow, two posts in two days, I’m on a roll!   😀

It’s a dreary day here with grey skies and rain though I’m not complaining. The air is still nice enough that we got out for a wet walk around the neighbourhood this morning. Besides, the rain is washing away the last of winter’s remnants and, after 6 months of snow, it’s a welcome relief.

Anyway, seeing as how any work outside has to wait ’til it’s dry, I got my pics uploaded and even had time to work with them for some cool before and after views.

My big organize project this month was our bedroom. It was years and years in coming but something more pressing always seemed to come up and take my attention away.  Sorely in need of a fresh coat of paint, purging, reorganizing and sprucing up, the room was a bit of an embarrassment. Thank Goodness no one but us ever saw it…well, until now I suppose.  😛

blbna3

This was Hubby’s side of the bed, and no, a neat freak he is not.  Basically it was a dumping ground and with the room being as small as it is, it cluttered up pretty quickly.  We decided, last minute actually, to try moving the bed and see how that would work. We were surprised to see how much more room we had.

blbna2
These pictures are wall for wall, I just basically went around the room and took a couple of shots of each one before and after. Doesn’t it look like a totally different room. I will never again underestimate the difference hanging a few pictures will do to brighten and liven up a space.

blbna5
This picture is the most telling about just how neglected our room was. The before picture is exactly how the room looked 15 years ago, just after we bought the house.  Though we primed the walls and painted most of the trim purple, as you can see we never managed to get around to covering the black trim around the closet (who paints anything in a bedroom black???).  What a world of difference and, again, I find that even that small picture above the door just adds something.

blbna1

Again, more contrast. For the cost of a can of paint, a few decals and a simple decorative piece (from the Dollar Tree, of course) the room is literally transformed. I’m realizing more and more as I do these projects just how much of a minimalist I really am. I’m all about simple, clean and uncluttered.

blbna4

So here we are, the last before and after pic. What was once the ‘entertainment corner’ is now my side of the bed and I love it. It may look a bit cramped but frankly, it’s more room than I had before and it’s much nicer. The calendar also adds a bit of changing scenery which is also nice. I’ve never had a calendar in my room before, it’s neat.

That’s it for now, I’m taking a break for at least a week. I have regular housework to catch up on and it won’t be long before it’s nice enough to start working outside. I’m really looking forward to that.

😀

§ 2 Responses to Organize 2013 – Update #3b

  • shadyladypdx says:

    Wow! This is totally awesome, Sheri!! What a lovely space you have created. The projects are endless, aren’t they? Good thing they’re so much fun! I love seeing the before and after pics. It makes it all worth while. 🙂

    • Sheri says:

      You’re not kidding about endless…everywhere I look there’s another project just waiting. Yes, it’s a darn good thing they’re fun and so rewarding.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Organize 2013 – Update #3b at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

