My First Quilt – Part One

March 19, 2014 § 1 Comment

*Before I start, I’m having wordpress/gmail issues and can’t comment directly to any comments at the moment. I have to get someone smarter than myself to have a look at it. I’ll ask Daughter later.

Anywho, it’s still winter here in full force and the only thing chasing the blah’s for me lately is watching Netflix and working on my quilt. I’m not sure exactly the moment that it actually became the beginnings of a quilt because I didn’t set out to make one.

I was sorting through some fabric and found some coordinating fleece that I thought would be fun to play with. I cut out a few squares and before I knew it, I had this…

StartingSquares

I didn’t use any pattern and just randomly added squares trying to avoid putting two of the same colour next to each other. I failed in a couple of places but overall, it turned out pretty good.

Top
This is the finished top. I just randomly decided I was done, eager to get on with the next stage. In the meantime though, I had extra squares and I cut out some hearts and added an extra dimension the quilt….some applique.

HeartApplique
I’ve got the back/bottom almost done now too…I just have to finish up the last corner.

Corner
Part Two will be about putting the top, bottom and middle (quilt batting) together. Did I mention I’ve never done this before?  This is NOT a tutorial.

😀

§ One Response to My First Quilt – Part One

  • shadyladypdx says:

    That is so awesome, Sheri!! Although, with your sewing skills, I’m not surprised you can just wing a quilt. 😉

    BTW, I did three blog posts this week! All pics from the last few months that I wanted to get posted.

    (((hugs)))

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My First Quilt – Part One at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

