Cleaning Closets and Purging Purses

March 31, 2014 § 1 Comment

I will say this for the delay of Spring, something positive I promise…

I sure am getting a tackle on the cobwebs and the wrangling of dust bunnies.  It’s even been nice enough today to have the windows and doors open.  All four cats are on the back steps noses in the air. Oh, happy day.

Not wanting to waste the motivation from the fresh air,  I emptied, swept, mopped and reorganized the front hall and coat closet.  Unfortunately, I didn’t think of it before I started and there are no before pics…all’s the better I say, I hadn’t cleaned it out in a few years and it was a real mess.

I did snap a few pics of what I found in there that I’m purging.

CoatsBoots
Here is the pile of coats, jackets, sweaters, boots, a bubble wand, an unused box of Hallowe’en lanterns and a pair of flip flops. Not shown are the mass of reusable shopping/grocery bags that I’ve accumulated over the years.

More astonishing however, and only I can take credit for it, was this…

Purses
…the plethora of purses I’m purposefully purging.  (Sorry, I had to.)  Anyway, some of them I haven’t used in years and a couple still had the thrift store tags on them. Ridiculous.

If I were to set any goals for the rest of the year, one would be to stop buying stuff I don’t need, even if it is from a thrift store or second hand shop.  Just because something is cute and cheap doesn’t mean I need it anymore than if it were gorgeous and expensive.

Anyway, it took me a good two hours from start to finish and it was well worth it.

EntryAfter
You wouldn’t believe how much crap was hung on the hooks and stuffed on top of and beside the bench. The space looks twice as big now. Yay!

Inside1
Look, we even have extra hangers for guests.  😀

Inside2

After noticing the wasted space above the shoe rack I thought maybe I should get some shelves.  Not wanting to wait for the gratification of getting it done today, I opted to use tea cup hooks and hung our hats.  I could actually move them around a bit and get a few more in there.

Finally…Inside3
…my beloved shoe rack. I bought it a few years ago…actually, the last time I cleaned out the closet and I love it.  It fits nicely inside the hall closet and holds all our non-winter foot wear, my purses (I’m keeping five) and two empty backpacks.

All in all, I’m pleased and even more motivated to get at the rest of the house.

§ One Response to Cleaning Closets and Purging Purses

  • shadyladypdx says:

    Nicely done! We are still working on organizing and purging. It’s an ongoing effort with us. I’ll be posting some bathroom remodel pics soon, but forgot to get pics of the “under the sink before”. Oh well!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cleaning Closets and Purging Purses at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

