A Blanket’s Worth

May 13, 2014 § Leave a comment

I have feverishly weaved threads
I have desperately tried to tie seams

Without thought to an end pattern
Without thought to other than right now

I sew to hold on to what is in hand
I sew to extend the life of the worn

Knowing that a blanket’s worth is not its’ look
Just as not all great stories are inside a book

I have nervously minced words
I have bravely tried to live up to

With such an unattainable ideal inside my head
With such an unreachable goal within my grasp

I have broken promises, I have outright lied
I have depended on how many times I have died

With not so much as a nod to how I survived
With not so much as a whisper of gratitude

I have wrapped myself in righteousness as grace
Worn it upon sleeve as much as used it to save face

I have since apologized, I have since made good
I have tried as hard as any one could

And though it doesn’t look like much now
This patchwork of reaching for my ideals

Keeps me warm and I feel safe within
While I wonder where you are and pray you’re okay

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Blanket’s Worth at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

