She Touches My Shoulder

August 6, 2014 § 2 Comments

How easily I forget her…

While I worry about how I will take care of my father
While I work at making a happy union with my husband
While I ache not knowing the whereabouts of my son

She touches my shoulder
Gently, so unobtrusive
Reminding me that she’s still waiting

I’m ashamed about how easily I forget her
She deserves so much better

While I self medicate against a horrific past
While I am only here in the now half the time
While I make my life’s work overcoming

She touches my shoulder
Sweetly, and smiles
Reminding me that I once was her

Waiting for my mother to love me
As much as them

Waiting for my mother to know
How much I loved her

I can give her what I didn’t have
But I don’t know how to start

She touches my shoulder
Nudging me into wakefulness
Reminding me that it’s not too late

§ 2 Responses to She Touches My Shoulder

  • shadyladypdx says:

    This is one of the most beautiful and heart wrenching poems of yours that I have read. It brought tears to my eyes…

    Just start. You don’t have to know how. Touch her. Hug her. Snuggle her. Love her. Just do it. Don’t let more time pass.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading She Touches My Shoulder at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

