Too Old For That Shit

July 23, 2015 § 2 Comments

Well, I suppose it had to happen eventually. I just thought I had a few years yet before it wouldn’t be worth it anymore.

I’m talking about my rustic camping trip on the weekend. We had a couple of nice fires, a great meal and a good sit by the lake.

WeekendatKirs17th
But the rest, well the rest absolutely and unequivocally sucked monkey balls. Unserviced used to be an adventure now it’s just a pain in the ass.  The yahoos across the lake used to be fun now they’re just fucking annoying.

We had rain most of the night Friday, even had to abandon the fire at 8:00pm and a severe thunderstorm the following night. All told, out of the 48 hours we were gone we got maybe three hours of sunshine. I also only got 7 hours sleep the entire weekend while BFF got about 24.

I was cold, I was damp, I was exhausted and I was sore from unloading and hauling all of our gear down a very long, steep, poorly maintained, hand dug staircase to the not quite level shack. I spent the entire weekend secretly dreading having to haul it all back up.

Mostly though, I was bored. (See above for how much sleep I got compared to my companion.) I had no idea just how prevalent Netflix had become in my life. Old shows, new shows, movies and documentaries…oh, how I love thee. I did bring a book and thank goodness it was decent and I almost finished it.

In the end, it seems I’ve outgrown my fondness for the rustic experience. Perhaps even outgrown my love of camping altogether. All I could think about while shivering inside my thick sweater and flannel shirt desperately trying to start a fire in a wet pit was a fancy hotel room with a kickin’ hot tub, room service and my laptop.

Nature, it’s been a blast but I think I want to start seeing other environments. Really, it’s not you, you’re awesome…it’s totally me.

§ 2 Responses to Too Old For That Shit

  • shadyladypdx says:

    I am so with the new you, Sheri! I really dislike camping immensely, even my “cheat” yurt camping. I’ve done it for Princess, but avoid it if I can.

    Our more recent “camping” has been at a friend’s beach house. I count it as camping because we still have to pack up all of our food and cooking supplies (to avoid cross contamination for gluten). ;-p So it is still camping, right?

    • Sheri says:

      Hey Shady! So nice to hear from you. Hope things are well with you and the family.

      I’m actually a bit saddened by the experience to tell the truth because I always did really enjoy camping. Used to be the more rustic the better but I guess these bones are just not up for the task anymore. 😀

      Of course the crappy weather didn’t help and neither did the fact that my friend got over three times more sleep than I did.

      In any case, if I do ever camp again I’m pretty sure it’ll be more a glamping experience. 😀

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Too Old For That Shit at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

